If you have co-taught classes in BrainPOP, this article will help you manage your other co-teachers and assignments.
What You'll Need
- Your school must have an active School Plan.
- An individual teacher account
- An active, co-taught class
Co-teachers have access to all the features any teacher with an individual account can use. This includes access to the Teacher Dashboard, to create and manage assignments, and the ability to track student work.
Co-teachers share all the following data with their other co-teachers:
- Student Submissions
- Projects: Make-a-Maps, Make-a-Movies
To see whether you have any shared classes with other teachers, look for the Shared icon in the class tile when viewing the class on your Dashboard or in the Classes menu.
Assignments made to shared classes will also be shared. To see if you have any shared assignments, look for the Shared icon next to the class name in the Assignment tile.
We do not collect or designate a 'primary' teacher role in BrainPOP. All teachers that share classes have the same permissions to do things like view student submissions, create and edit shared assignments, reset student passwords, and even archive and delete your shared classes.
Deleting a student, shared class, or shared assignment from your dashboard will also remove it from your co-teachers's dashboard.
You can view other teachers in your shared class by loading the class from the dashboard or the Classes page.
Click on the number of teachers on the top right to see the names and emails for the other teachers for the class. If the co-teachers are automatically added by Clever or Classlink/OneRoster integrations, you are not able to edit your co-teachers.
To learn how to archive or delete a class, you can consult this article:
Archive or Delete Classes
Be careful: deleting or archiving a shared class also deletes or archives the class for all other co-teachers.
When you assign work to a class that is shared with Co-Teachers, the assignment will become a shared assignment. To learn more about how to create assignments, you can consult this article:
You'll see the Shared icon next to the class name in the assignment tile.
You'll also see which teacher last edited the assignment, and when. You can see the same information when viewing the Assignment Progress.
Any edits you make to an assignment will be reflected for all co-teachers in their dashboards as well. All co-teachers can give feedback and grade assignments, with all feedback and assignments being reflected on the assignment for each co-teacher in the class.
When you edit a shared assignment, the changes you make will also be applied to the assignment for all co-teachers.
All co-teachers can give feedback and grade shared assignments, with all feedback and grades being reflected on the assignment for each co-teacher in the class.
When you unassign a shared assignment, you will become the owner of the remaining assignment draft, and your co-teachers will no longer be able to view or edit the assignment draft. Drafts cannot be shared.
To find out more about how to manage your assignments, you can consult this article:
You can remove teachers from your class with the following steps:
- Log into your individual teacher account.
- Click Dashboard at the top of the screen.
- Select the class you want to remove a teacher from.
- Click Edit.
- You'll see a list of teachers for that class with an option to remove them. (You can also leave the class or invite additional teachers from here.)
Frequently Asked Questions
Is there a limit on the number of co-teachers that can be added to a class?
Yes, there is a limit of 10 teachers total per class.
I have a co-teacher who is in a different school to me. Will they be added by the nightly sync?
In both Clever and OneRoster API, all co-teachers will be added, even if they do not belong to the same school as the roster.