Manage Classes

My BrainPOP Educators can modify or update their class compositions and their student accounts in the My Classes menu.

IN THIS ARTICLE

Editing Class Names and Class Codes
Editing Student Usernames and Passwords
Adding Students to Classes
Removing Students from Classes
Locking Classes
Unlocking Classes
Archiving Classes
Unarchiving Classes
Deleting Classes

Editing Class Names and Class Codes

You can update a class name or class code at any time.

  1. Select the class from the dropdown menu in My Classes.
  2. Click the Manage Class tab.
  3. If the class is locked, click the lock icon to unlock it.
  4. Edit the class name and/or the class code in the associated fields.

Editing Student Usernames and Passwords

You can edit student usernames and passwords at any time.

  1. Select the class from the dropdown menu in My Classes.
  2. Click the Manage Class tab.
  3. Click the pencil icon next to a student’s username to edit username and password.
  4. Tell the student that you made the change; there is no automatic notification system.

Adding Students to Classes

  1. Select the class from the dropdown menu in My Classes.
  2. Click the Manage Class tab and locate the class code on the right side of the screen.
  3. If the class is locked, click the lock icon to unlock it.  
  4. Share your class code with students and invite them to join.
  5. Students click Enter Code at the top of the screen.
  6. Students enter the class code and click Submit.
  7. For students creating My BrainPOP student accounts for the first time, click Sign Up Now! and complete the form. Students who have My BrainPOP student accounts enter their personal username and password and click Log In.

NOTE: Teachers cannot add a student to their class from their My Classes portal. Students must use the class code to create their account and/or join the class.

For classes imported with Google Classroom or OneRoster, you can add students by updating your class roster.

Removing Students From Classes

  1. Select the class from the dropdown menu in My Classes.
  2. Click the Manage Class tab.
  3. Click the pencil icon next to the student’s name to remove the student from the class.

NOTE: If the student you remove from your class does not belong to any other classes in your school, they will also lose access to the school subscription. To regain access to BrainPOP, the student must join another class.

Locking Classes

If you would like to lock a class roster so students can’t join:

  1. Select the class from the dropdown menu in My Classes.  
  2. Click the Manage Class tab.
  3. Click the lock icon to lock the class.

Unlocking Classes

If you would like to unlock a locked class roster so that students can join a class:

  1. Select the class from the dropdown menu in My Classes.  
  2. Click the Manage Class tab.
  3. Click the lock icon to open the class.

Archiving Classes

If you have classes in your My Classes menu that are no longer active, archiving is a good option. When you archive a class, the class and its activity will no longer appear in your Timeline view. You can no longer assign work to the class, and students can no longer submit work, but students can still access their past work. To archive a class:

  1. Select the class from the dropdown menu in My Classes.
  2. Click the Manage Class tab.
  3. Click Archive Class.
  4. Click Archive Class to confirm.

To view archived classes, use the dropdown menu and click Archived Classes. Archived classes will automatically be deleted from our system after two years.

NOTE: Students who are members of an archived or deleted class and do not belong to any other active class will no longer have access to BrainPOP. Students must be part of an active class to view content with their My BrainPOP student accounts.

Unarchiving Classes

  1. Select Archived Classes in the dropdown menu in My Classes.
  2. Select the archived class you’d like to access and click Unarchive Class.

Deleting Classes

When you delete a class from your My BrainPOP educator account, you will remove the students' activity from your account timeline. Be aware that deleting a class is permanent.

To delete a class:

  1. Select the class from the dropdown menu in My Classes.
  2. Click the Manage Class tab.
  3. Click Delete Class.
  4. Click Delete to confirm.

NOTE: Students in a deleted class will no longer be able to submit their work to you, but they can still access their past work in their student timeline.  

Still need help? Contact Us Contact Us